SHARE
URL:
Link

Wild Ricochet | Magic: The Gathering

 

Formats Wild Ricochet is Legal in

Block
Standard
Modern
Legacy
Vintage
Commander
 
 

Sets Wild Ricochet is in

Edition
Price
In-Stock

0.00
0

0.35
6

0.00
0

1.50
0

 
 

Official Oracle Text for Wild Ricochet

Card Name:
Wild Ricochet
Casting Cost:
Type:
Instant

Card Text:
You may choose new targets for target instant or sorcery spell. Then copy that spell. You may choose new targets for the copy.

Flavor Text:
"May your day never match your expectations."—Scriptus Fleen, flectomancer

Official Rulings for Wild Ricochet

7/1/2013 : Wild Ricochet can target (and copy) any instant or sorcery spell, not just one with targets. It doesn’t matter who controls it.

7/1/2013 : When Wild Ricochet resolves, it creates a copy of a spell. You control the copy. The controller of the original spell retains control of that spell. The copy is created on the stack, so it’s not “cast.” Abilities that trigger when a player casts a spell won’t trigger. The copy will then resolve like a normal spell, after players get a chance to cast spells and activate abilities. The copy resolves before the original spell.

7/1/2013 : The copy will have the same targets as the spell it’s copying unless you choose new ones. You may change any number of the targets, including all of them or none of them. If, for one of the targets, you can’t choose a new legal target, then it remains unchanged (even if the current target is illegal).

7/1/2013 : If the spell Wild Ricochet copies is modal (that is, it says “Choose one —” or the like), the copy will have the same mode. You can’t choose a different one.

7/1/2013 : If the spell Wild Ricochet copies has an X whose value was determined as it was cast (like Volcanic Geyser does), the copy has the same value of X.

7/1/2013 : You can’t choose to pay any additional costs for the copy. However, effects based on any additional costs that were paid for the original spell are copied as though those same costs were paid for the copy too. For example, if a player sacrifices a 3/3 creature to cast Fling, and you copy it with Wild Ricochet, the copy of Fling will also deal 3 damage to its target.

7/1/2013 : If the copy says that it affects “you,” it affects the controller of the copy, not the controller of the original spell. Similarly, if the copy says that it affects an “opponent,” it affects an opponent of the copy’s controller, not an opponent of the original spell’s controller.

 
 

Comments on Wild Ricochet

Feel free to post any comments or questions you have on Wild Ricochet. Please be respectful of others. Any spam or trolling posts will be removed. Repeat offenders may be banned.

Author: DaMarcus

Date: March 05, 2014

Comment:

does wild ricochet double the original spell?

is this what this means?

"When Wild Ricochet resolves, it creates a copy of a spell. You control the copy. The controller of the original spell retains control of that spell. The copy is created on the stack, so it’s not “cast.” Abilities that trigger when a player casts a spell won’t trigger. The copy will then resolve like a normal spell, after players get a chance to cast spells and activate abilities. The copy resolves before the original spell."

so when my opponent casts doom blade.. do i choose a new target for that spell.. then copy the spell and then get another target?

Author: DaMarcus

Date: March 05, 2014

Comment:

follow up question on the first one.. if my opponent casts doomblade and i counter it with wild ricochet.. can I choose as a target one of his creatures with hexproof like gladecover scout? thanks a lot as usual.

Author: PWLAdmin

Date: March 13, 2014

Comment:

Yes, you'll get to choose a new target for the Doom Blade and then create a copy of Doom Blade.

Author: PWLAdmin

Date: March 13, 2014

Comment:

You can change the target of the orignal Doom Blade your opponent cast to a creature he controls with hexproof (like Gladecover Scout) because he still controls the original Doom Blade. You cannot target any of your opponent's creatures that have hexproof with the copy of Doom Blade, because you control the copy.

Author: DaMarcus

Date: March 14, 2014

Comment:

cool! thanks!