Wandering Mage | Magic: The Gathering
Formats Wandering Mage is Legal in
Official Oracle Text for Wandering Mage
: Prevent the next 1 damage that would be dealt to target Cleric or Wizard creature this turn.
, Put a -1/-1 counter on a creature you control: Prevent the next 2 damage that would be dealt to target player this turn.
Official Rulings for Wandering Mage
10/1/2009 : If you activate Wandering Mage's third ability, you put the -1/-1 counter on a creature you control as a cost. That means it happens when you activate the ability, not when it resolves. If paying the cost causes the only creature you control to have 0 toughness, it's put into the graveyard before you can pay the cost again.