Voodoo Doll | Magic: The Gathering
Formats Voodoo Doll is Legal in
Official Oracle Text for Voodoo Doll
At the beginning of your end step, if Voodoo Doll is untapped, destroy Voodoo Doll and it deals damage to you equal to the number of pin counters on it.
, : Voodoo Doll deals damage equal to the number of pin counters on it to target creature or player. X is the number of pin counters on Voodoo Doll.
Official Rulings for Voodoo Doll
10/1/2009 : Each X in the cost of Voodoo Doll's third ability is the number of pin counters on Voodoo Doll at the time you activate the ability. The X in the ability's effect is the number of pin counters on Voodoo Doll at the time it resolves, which may not be the same number (if a spell or ability put counters on it or removed counters from it in the meantime). If Voodoo Doll is no longer on the battlefield as the ability resolves, its last existence on the battlefield is checked to see how many pin counters were on it.
1/1/2011 : Voodoo Doll's second ability causes it to be destroyed regardless of whether it actually deals damage to you or not. Voodoo Doll is destroyed even if all the damage is prevented or redirected.