SHARE
URL:
Link

Volunteer Reserves | Magic: The Gathering

 

Formats Volunteer Reserves is Legal in

Block
Standard
Modern
Legacy
Vintage
Commander
 
 

Sets Volunteer Reserves is in

Edition
Price
In-Stock

0.00
0

 
 

Official Oracle Text for Volunteer Reserves

Card Name:
Volunteer Reserves
Casting Cost:
Type:
Creature — Human Soldier

Card Text:
Banding (Any creatures with banding, and up to one without, can attack in a band. Bands are blocked as a group. If any creatures with banding you control are blocking or being blocked by a creature, you divide that creature's combat damage, not its controller, among any of the creatures it's being blocked by or is blocking.)
Cumulative upkeep (At the beginning of your upkeep, put an age counter on this permanent, then sacrifice it unless you pay its upkeep cost for each age counter on it.)

Flavor Text:
"I'm always a little leery of anyone who offers to kill other people for free."
—Gerrard of the Weatherlight

Official Rulings for Volunteer Reserves

10/1/2008 : If a creature with banding attacks, it can team up with any number of other attacking creatures with banding (and up to one nonbanding creature) and attack as a unit called a "band." The band can be blocked by any creature that could block a single creature in the band. Blocking any creature in a band blocks the entire band. If a creature with banding is blocked, the attacking player chooses how the blockers' damage is assigned.

10/1/2008 : A maximum of one nonbanding creature can join an attacking band no matter how many creatures with banding are in it.

10/1/2008 : Creatures in the same band must all attack the same player or planeswalker.

10/1/2008 : Paying cumulative upkeep is always optional. If it's not paid, the permanent with cumulative upkeep is sacrificed. Partial payments of the total cumulative upkeep cost can't be made. For example, if a permanent with "cumulative upkeep " has three age counters on it when its cumulative upkeep ability triggers, it gets another age counter and then its controller chooses to either pay or sacrifice the permanent.

10/1/2009 : If a creature in combat has banding, its controller assigns damage for creatures blocking or blocked by it. That player can ignore the damage assignment order when making this assignment.

 
 

Comments on Volunteer Reserves

Feel free to post any comments or questions you have on Volunteer Reserves. Please be respectful of others. Any spam or trolling posts will be removed. Repeat offenders may be banned.