SHARE
URL:
Link

Volrath's Shapeshifter | Magic: The Gathering

 

Formats Volrath's Shapeshifter is Legal in

Block
Standard
Modern
Legacy
Vintage
Commander
 
 

Sets Volrath's Shapeshifter is in

Edition
Price
In-Stock

0.00
0

 
 

Official Oracle Text for Volrath's Shapeshifter

Card Name:
Volrath's Shapeshifter
Casting Cost:
Type:
Creature — Shapeshifter

Card Text:
As long as the top card of your graveyard is a creature card, Volrath's Shapeshifter has the full text of that card and has the text ": Discard a card." (Volrath's Shapeshifter has that card's name, mana cost, color, types, abilities, power, and toughness.)
: Discard a card.

Official Rulings for Volrath's Shapeshifter

10/4/2004 : If the top card in the graveyard has any other undefined characteristics, then those characteristics are not acquired and the shapeshifter uses the characteristic from its own card.

10/4/2004 : If the top card in your graveyard is a creature card, this card uses the listed characteristics, including color and any other types. But, this card keeps the granted ability in addition to those from the card being copied.

10/4/2004 : When it changes forms, any "enters the battlefield" abilities of the card it "copies" do not trigger.

10/4/2004 : A copy of a Volrath's Shapeshifter will have the shapeshifting ability.

10/4/2004 : If the top card in your graveyard isn't a creature card (meaning a card with the type Creature, which may or may not have other types such as Artifact or Enchantment), then it's just a 0/1 blue creature. Older cards of type Summon are also Creature cards.

8/1/2008 : The ability that sets its characteristics is a text-changing effect.

 
 

Comments on Volrath's Shapeshifter

Feel free to post any comments or questions you have on Volrath's Shapeshifter. Please be respectful of others. Any spam or trolling posts will be removed. Repeat offenders may be banned.