Voidstone Gargoyle | Magic: The Gathering
Formats Voidstone Gargoyle is Legal in
Official Oracle Text for Voidstone Gargoyle
As Voidstone Gargoyle enters the battlefield, name a nonland card.
The named card can't be cast.
Activated abilities of sources with the chosen name can't be activated.
Official Rulings for Voidstone Gargoyle
2/1/2007 : The named card can be cast face down.
2/1/2007 : You can name either half of a split card, but not both. If you do so, that half (and both halves, if the split card has fuse) can't be cast. The other half is unaffected.
2/1/2007 : Voidstone Gargoyle stops activated abilities that are mana abilities from being activated, unlike Pithing Needle.
7/15/2007 : Activated abilities of copies of a spell with that name (such as Lightning Storm) cannot be activated.
7/1/2013 : Activated abilities contain a colon. They're generally written "[Cost]: [Effect]." Some keywords are activated abilities; they have colons in their reminder text.