SHARE
URL:
Link

Vexing Sphinx | Magic: The Gathering

 

Formats Vexing Sphinx is Legal in

Block
Standard
Modern
Legacy
Vintage
Commander
 
 

Sets Vexing Sphinx is in

Edition
Price
In-Stock

0.00
0

 
 

Official Oracle Text for Vexing Sphinx

Card Name:
Vexing Sphinx
Casting Cost:
Type:
Creature — Sphinx

Card Text:
Flying
Cumulative upkeep—Discard a card. (At the beginning of your upkeep, put an age counter on this permanent, then sacrifice it unless you pay its upkeep cost for each age counter on it.)
When Vexing Sphinx dies, draw a card for each age counter on it.

Official Rulings for Vexing Sphinx

7/15/2006 : If Vexing Sphinx has more age counters on it than you have cards in your hand, you can't pay the upkeep and you must sacrifice it.

10/1/2008 : Paying cumulative upkeep is always optional. If it's not paid, the permanent with cumulative upkeep is sacrificed. Partial payments of the total cumulative upkeep cost can't be made. For example, if a permanent with "cumulative upkeep " has three age counters on it when its cumulative upkeep ability triggers, it gets another age counter and then its controller chooses to either pay or sacrifice the permanent.

 
 

Comments on Vexing Sphinx

Feel free to post any comments or questions you have on Vexing Sphinx. Please be respectful of others. Any spam or trolling posts will be removed. Repeat offenders may be banned.