SHARE
URL:
Link

Vesuvan Shapeshifter | Magic: The Gathering

 

Formats Vesuvan Shapeshifter is Legal in

Block
Standard
Modern
Legacy
Vintage
Commander
 
 

Sets Vesuvan Shapeshifter is in

Edition
Price
In-Stock

0.00
0

 
 

Official Oracle Text for Vesuvan Shapeshifter

Card Name:
Vesuvan Shapeshifter
Casting Cost:
Type:
Creature — Shapeshifter

Card Text:
As Vesuvan Shapeshifter enters the battlefield or is turned face up, you may choose another creature on the battlefield. If you do, until Vesuvan Shapeshifter is turned face down, it becomes a copy of that creature and gains "At the beginning of your upkeep, you may turn this creature face down."
Morph (You may cast this face down as a 2/2 creature for . Turn it face up any time for its morph cost.)

Official Rulings for Vesuvan Shapeshifter

9/25/2006 : Essentially, each time Vesuvan Shapeshifter turns face up, it's a copy of a new creature. During your upkeep, you may turn it face down in preparation to copy something else.

9/25/2006 : If Vesuvan Shapeshifter is cast face up, it behaves like Clone except that it gives itself a triggered ability.

9/25/2006 : If Vesuvan Shapeshifter is turned face up, the process of turning face up includes (optionally) choosing another creature on the battlefield. You'll pay (not the morph cost, if any, of the new creature), then Vesuvan Shapeshifter will turn face up as a copy of that creature, plus the triggered ability it gives itself. It won't turn face up as a Vesuvan Shapeshifter and then change. If the copied creature has a "when this creature is turned face up" ability, it will trigger for Vesuvan Shapeshifter.

9/25/2006 : When Vesuvan Shapeshifter is turned face down, its copy effect wears off. While it's face down, it's a face-down Vesuvan Shapeshifter that can be turned face up for a morph cost of .

9/25/2006 : If another creature copies Vesuvan Shapeshifter while it's face up, the new creature will become a copy of whatever Vesuvan Shapeshifter is copying and gain the "you may turn this creature face down" ability. It won't gain morph . If that creature is then turned face down, its copy effect will continue and it'll be a face-down version of whatever it's copying. If the creature it's copying has morph, it can be turned face up. If the creature it's copying doesn't have morph, it's stuck face down forever unless some other effect (like Break Open) turns it face up again.

9/25/2006 : If Vesuvan Shapeshifter copies a face-down creature, it becomes a face-up 2/2 colorless nameless creature with no abilities other than the one it gives itself.

9/25/2006 : When Vesuvan Shapeshifter copies a creature that has echo, the echo ability will trigger at the beginning of your upkeep if Vesuvan Shapeshifter came under your control since the beginning of your last upkeep. If you've controlled Vesuvan Shapeshifter since your last upkeep (regardless of whether it had echo then), the echo ability won't trigger.

9/25/2006 : Turning Vesuvan Shapeshifter face down during your upkeep doesn't prevent you from needing to pay applicable upkeep costs such as echo.

9/25/2006 : If you don't or can't choose another creature on the battlefield for Vesuvan Shapeshifter to copy, it doesn't get the triggered ability that turns it face down. It's just a 0/0 creature with morph .

 
 

Comments on Vesuvan Shapeshifter

Feel free to post any comments or questions you have on Vesuvan Shapeshifter. Please be respectful of others. Any spam or trolling posts will be removed. Repeat offenders may be banned.