Vastwood Hydra | Magic: The Gathering
Formats Vastwood Hydra is Legal in
Official Oracle Text for Vastwood Hydra
When Vastwood Hydra dies, you may distribute a number of +1/+1 counters equal to the number of +1/+1 counters on Vastwood Hydra among any number of creatures you control.
Official Rulings for Vastwood Hydra
7/1/2013 : You choose how the counters will be distributed when the ability resolves.
7/1/2013 : In some unusual cases, Vastwood Hydra will have enough -1/-1 counters put on it to make its toughness 0 or less. If this happens, the ability will still distribute a number of +1/+1 counters equal to the number of +1/+1 counters on Vastwood Hydra before the -1/-1 counters were put on it. For example, if Vastwood Hydra has two +1/+1 counters on it and three -1/-1 counters are put on it, two +1/+1 counters will be distributed.