SHARE
URL:
Link

Vastwood Animist | Magic: The Gathering

 

Formats Vastwood Animist is Legal in

Block
Standard
Modern
Legacy
Vintage
Commander
 
 

Sets Vastwood Animist is in

Edition
Price
In-Stock

0.15
25

 
 

Official Oracle Text for Vastwood Animist

Card Name:
Vastwood Animist
Casting Cost:
Type:
Creature — Elf Shaman Ally

Card Text:
: Target land you control becomes an X/X Elemental creature until end of turn, where X is the number of Allies you control. It's still a land.

Flavor Text:
He calls on the forests for counsel and summons the earth to his cause.

Official Rulings for Vastwood Animist

3/1/2010 : A land that becomes a creature may be affected by "summoning sickness." You can't attack with it or use any of its abilities (including its mana abilities) unless it began your most recent turn on the battlefield under your control. Note that summoning sickness cares about when that permanent came under your control, not when it became a creature.

3/1/2010 : When a land becomes a creature, that doesn't count as having a creature enter the battlefield. The permanent was already on the battlefield; it only changed its types. Abilities that trigger whenever a creature enters the battlefield won't trigger.

3/1/2010 : The enchanted permanent will be both a land and a creature and can be affected by anything that affects either a land or a creature.

3/1/2010 : When a land becomes a creature, that doesn't count as having a creature enter the battlefield. The permanent was already on the battlefield; it only changed its types. Abilities that trigger whenever a creature enters the battlefield won't trigger.

3/1/2010 : An attacking or blocking creature that stops being a creature is removed from combat. This can happen if a Zendikon enchanting an attacking or blocking creature leaves the battlefield, for example. The permanent that was removed from combat neither deals nor is dealt combat damage. Any attacking creature that the land creature was blocking remains blocked, however.

3/1/2010 : An ability that turns a land into a creature also sets that creature's power and toughness. If the land was already a creature (due to a Zendikon already enchanting it or its animation ability resolving earlier in the turn, for example), this will overwrite the previous effect that set its power and toughness. Effects that modified its power or toughness, such as the effects of Disfigure or Glorious Anthem, will continue to apply, no matter when they started to take effect. The same is true for counters that change its power or toughness (such as +1/+1 counters) and effects that switch its power and toughness.

3/1/2010 : If a Zendikon and the land it's enchanting are destroyed at the same time (due to Akroma's Vengeance, for example), the Zendikon's last ability will still trigger.

3/1/2010 : If a Zendikon's last ability triggers, but the land card it refers to leaves the graveyard before it resolves, it will resolve but do nothing.

3/1/2010 : The value of X is determined as Vastwood Animist's activated ability resolves. The power and toughness of the Elemental won't change if the number of Allies you control changes later in the turn.

3/1/2010 : If you control no Allies when the ability resolves, the land becomes a 0/0 creature and is put into its owner's graveyard as a state-based action. However, since Vastwood Animist is itself an Ally, the land will usually be at least a 1/1.

 
 

Comments on Vastwood Animist

Feel free to post any comments or questions you have on Vastwood Animist. Please be respectful of others. Any spam or trolling posts will be removed. Repeat offenders may be banned.