SHARE
URL:
Link

Trickbind | Magic: The Gathering

 

Formats Trickbind is Legal in

Block
Standard
Modern
Legacy
Vintage
Commander
 
 

Sets Trickbind is in

Edition
Price
In-Stock

0.00
0

 
 

Official Oracle Text for Trickbind

Card Name:
Trickbind
Casting Cost:
Type:
Instant

Card Text:
Split second (As long as this spell is on the stack, players can't cast spells or activate abilities that aren't mana abilities.)
Counter target activated or triggered ability. If a permanent's ability is countered this way, activated abilities of that permanent can't be activated this turn. (Mana abilities can't be targeted.)

Official Rulings for Trickbind

9/25/2006 : If Trickbind counters an activated ability of a permanent, no activated abilities of that permanent can be activated for the remainder of the turn. This includes activated abilities other than the one that was countered, as well as any mana abilities that permanent may have. Other abilities of that permanent, including triggered abilities and static abilities, are unaffected.

9/25/2006 : Trickbind can be used to counter the storm triggered ability. Doing so prevents the copies from being created, but doesn't counter the original storm spell.

9/25/2006 : Trickbind can be used to counter the madness triggered ability. The affected card will remain exiled.

9/25/2006 : Trickbind can be used to counter the suspend "remove a counter" ability. If so, the counter won't get removed, but the ability will trigger again as normal later on. Trickbind can also be used to counter the suspend "play this card" ability. If so, the card stays exiled (the ability won't trigger again). Using suspend to exile a card in your hand is neither an activated nor a triggered ability, so it can't be countered this way.

9/25/2006 : Trickbind can be used to counter the echo triggered ability. If so, the echo ability won't trigger again so the echo cost is never paid.

9/25/2006 : Trickbind can be used to counter the flanking triggered ability.

9/25/2006 : Trickbind can't counter or prevent paying the morph cost to turn a face-down creature face up, since that action doesn't use the stack.

6/7/2013 : Players still get priority while a card with split second is on the stack.

6/7/2013 : Split second doesn't prevent players from activating mana abilities.

6/7/2013 : Split second doesn't prevent triggered abilities from triggering. If one does, its controller puts it on the stack and chooses targets for it, if any. Those abilities will resolve as normal.

6/7/2013 : Split second doesn't prevent players from performing special actions. Notably, players may turn face-down creatures face up while a spell with split second is on the stack.

6/7/2013 : Casting a spell with split second won't affect spells and abilities that are already on the stack.

6/7/2013 : If the resolution of a triggered ability involves casting a spell, that spell can't be cast if a spell with split second is on the stack.

7/1/2013 : Activated abilities contain a colon. They're generally written "[Cost]: [Effect]." Some keywords are activated abilities; they have colons in their reminder text.

 
 

Comments on Trickbind

Feel free to post any comments or questions you have on Trickbind. Please be respectful of others. Any spam or trolling posts will be removed. Repeat offenders may be banned.