SHARE
URL:
Link

Torpor Orb | Magic: The Gathering

 

Formats Torpor Orb is Legal in

Block
Standard
Modern
Legacy
Vintage
Commander
 
 

Sets Torpor Orb is in

Edition
Price
In-Stock

1.50
0

 
 

Official Oracle Text for Torpor Orb

Card Name:
Torpor Orb
Casting Cost:
Type:
Artifact

Card Text:
Creatures entering the battlefield don't cause abilities to trigger.

Flavor Text:
"Phyrexia is certainly dangerous, but I have to admire some of its innovations."
—Tezzeret

Official Rulings for Torpor Orb

6/1/2011 : Torpor Orb stops a creature's own enters-the-battlefield triggered abilities as well as other triggered abilities that would trigger when a creature enters the battlefield.

6/1/2011 : The trigger event doesn't have to specify "creatures" entering the battlefield. For example, Amulet of Vigor says "Whenever a permanent enters the battlefield tapped and under your control, untap it." If a creature enters the battlefield tapped and under your control, Amulet of Vigor would not trigger. If a land (that isn't also a creature) enters the battlefield tapped and under your control, Amulet of Vigor would trigger.

6/1/2011 : Abilities that create replacement effects, such as a permanent entering the battlefield tapped or with counters on it, are unaffected.

6/1/2011 : Abilities that apply "as [this creature] enters the battlefield," such as choosing a creature to copy with Clone, are unaffected.

6/1/2011 : Look at the permanent as it exists on the battlefield, taking into account continuous effects, to determine whether any triggered abilities will trigger. For example, if you control March of the Machines, which says, in part, "Each noncreature artifact is an artifact creature," Torpor Orb will be a creature when it enters the battlefield and will not cause triggered abilities to trigger.

6/1/2011 : If Torpor Orb and a creature enter the battlefield at the same time, that creature entering the battlefield won't cause triggered abilities to trigger.

 
 

Comments on Torpor Orb

Feel free to post any comments or questions you have on Torpor Orb. Please be respectful of others. Any spam or trolling posts will be removed. Repeat offenders may be banned.

Author: Guest

Date: April 21, 2014

Comment:

does torpor orb stop the cascade in Maelstrom Wanderer? thanks!

Author: DaMarcus

Date: April 21, 2014

Comment:

does torpor orb stop the cascade in Maelstrom Wanderer? if not are there other cards that can? thanks!