Tombstone Stairwell | Magic: The Gathering
Formats Tombstone Stairwell is Legal in
Official Oracle Text for Tombstone Stairwell
At the beginning of each upkeep, if Tombstone Stairwell is on the battlefield, each player puts a 2/2 black Zombie creature token with haste named Tombspawn onto the battlefield for each creature card in his or her graveyard.
At the beginning of each end step or when Tombstone Stairwell leaves the battlefield, destroy all tokens put onto the battlefield with Tombstone Stairwell. They can't be regenerated.
Official Rulings for Tombstone Stairwell
10/4/2004 : Both the cumulative upkeep and the triggered ability trigger at the beginning of upkeep, so you can choose what order they resolve.
10/4/2004 : You control the triggered ability, but each player controls the token creature they put onto the battlefield due to the ability's effect.
10/4/2004 : Does not put the Zombies onto the battlefield if this card is not still on the battlefield when its ability resolves.
10/4/2004 : If something changes the names of the tokens, then the "at end of turn" ability will still destroy them.
10/1/2008 : This has the supertype world. When a world permanent enters the battlefield, any world permanents that were already on the battlefield are put into their owners' graveyards. This is a state-based action called the "world rule." The new world permanent stays on the battlefield. If two world permanents enter the battlefield at the same time, they're both put into their owners' graveyards.