SHARE
URL:
Link

Time to Feed | Magic: The Gathering

 

Formats Time to Feed is Legal in

Block
Standard
Modern
Legacy
Vintage
Commander
 
 

Sets Time to Feed is in

Edition
Price
In-Stock

0.25
28

Foil Time to Feed

Edition
Price
In-Stock

0.50
2

 
 

Official Oracle Text for Time to Feed

Card Name:
Time to Feed
Casting Cost:
Type:
Sorcery

Card Text:
Choose target creature an opponent controls. When that creature dies this turn, you gain 3 life. Target creature you control fights that creature. (Each deals damage equal to its power to the other.)

Official Rulings for Time to Feed

9/15/2013 : Time to Feed has two targets: a creature an opponent controls and a creature you control. If only one of those creatures is a legal target when Time to Feed tries to resolve, the creatures won’t fight and neither will deal or be dealt damage. However, you’ll still gain 3 life when the creature you don’t control dies that turn, even if it was the illegal target as Time to Feed resolved.

9/15/2013 : If neither creature is a legal target when Time to Feed tries to resolve, the spell will be countered and none of its effects will happen.

9/15/2013 : If the first target creature dies that turn, you’ll gain 3 life no matter what caused the creature to die or who controls the creature at that time.

 
 

Comments on Time to Feed

Feel free to post any comments or questions you have on Time to Feed. Please be respectful of others. Any spam or trolling posts will be removed. Repeat offenders may be banned.

Author: Sean

Date: October 13, 2013

Comment:

What stage does the combat happen and what happens if the selected creature is tapped

Author: PWLAdmin

Date: October 13, 2013

Comment:

The "fighting" this card mentions is outside of the combat phase. You can target any creature your opponent controls, even if it's tapped. Once you've selected a creature your opponent controls and one that you control and the spell resolves, then each of the creatures chosen deals damage to the other equal to their power.

Author: Anna

Date: July 22, 2014

Comment:

It specifies "when that creature dies" instead of if the creature dies. So does the opponents creature die no matter what. Kind of like death touch.

Author: PWLAdmin

Date: July 22, 2014

Comment:

Unfortunately, no, the creature wont automatically die as a result of this card. The target creature must die either through the "fight" with your creature or some other means like combat damage or a spell that kills it directly. The "when" language is just used to let you know that you will get 3 life if the creature dies at any point during that turn and not just as a result of this card. Hope this helps!