Thornscape Familiar | Magic: The Gathering
Formats Thornscape Familiar is Legal in
Official Oracle Text for Thornscape Familiar
Official Rulings for Thornscape Familiar
10/4/2004 : The generic X cost is still considered generic even if there is a requirement that a specific color be used for it. For example, "only black mana can be spent this way". This distinction is important for effects which reduce the generic portion of a spell's cost.
10/4/2004 : This can lower the cost to zero, but not below zero.
10/4/2004 : The effect is cumulative.
10/4/2004 : The lower cost is not optional like with some other cost reducers.
10/4/2004 : Can never affect the colored part of the cost.
10/4/2004 : If this card is sacrificed to pay part of a spell's cost, the cost reduction still applies.