SHARE
URL:
Link

The Hippodrome | Magic: The Gathering

 

Formats The Hippodrome is Legal in

Block
Standard
Modern
Legacy
Vintage
Commander
 
 

Sets The Hippodrome is in

Edition
Price
In-Stock

0.25
0

 
 

Official Oracle Text for The Hippodrome

Card Name:
The Hippodrome
Casting Cost:
Type:
Plane — Segovia

Card Text:
All creatures get -5/-0.
Whenever you roll [chaos], you may destroy target creature if its power is 0 or less.

Official Rulings for The Hippodrome

10/1/2009 : A plane card is treated as if its text box included "When you roll , put this card on the bottom of its owner's planar deck face down, then move the top card of your planar deck off that planar deck and turn it face up." This is called the "planeswalking ability."

10/1/2009 : A face-up plane card that's turned face down becomes a new object with no relation to its previous existence. In particular, it loses all counters it may have had.

10/1/2009 : The controller of a face-up plane card is the player designated as the "planar controller." Normally, the planar controller is whoever the active player is. However, if the current planar controller would leave the game, instead the next player in turn order that wouldn't leave the game becomes the planar controller, then the old planar controller leaves the game. The new planar controller retains that designation until he or she leaves the game or a different player becomes the active player, whichever comes first.

10/1/2009 : If an ability of a plane refers to "you," it's referring to whoever the plane's controller is at the time, not to the player that started the game with that plane card in his or her deck. Many abilities of plane cards affect all players, while many others affect only the planar controller, so read each ability carefully.

10/1/2009 : Creatures may have negative power. For example, a 3/4 creature that gets -5/-0 becomes -2/4. The total of its power and toughness is 2. It would need +3/+0 to raise its power to 1.

10/1/2009 : A creature that would assign 0 or less combat damage (due to having power 0 or less) doesn't assign combat damage at all.

10/1/2009 : You may target any creature with The Hippodrome's ability. Whether its power is 0 or less isn't checked until the ability resolves.

 
 

Comments on The Hippodrome

Feel free to post any comments or questions you have on The Hippodrome. Please be respectful of others. Any spam or trolling posts will be removed. Repeat offenders may be banned.