SHARE
URL:
Link

Thassa, God of the Sea | Magic: The Gathering

 

Formats Thassa, God of the Sea is Legal in

Block
Standard
Modern
Legacy
Vintage
Commander
 
 

Sets Thassa, God of the Sea is in

Edition
Price
In-Stock

7.50
0

Foil Thassa, God of the Sea

Edition
Price
In-Stock

29.95
1

 
 

Official Oracle Text for Thassa, God of the Sea

Card Name:
Thassa, God of the Sea
Casting Cost:
Type:
Legendary Enchantment Creature — God

Card Text:
Indestructible
As long as your devotion to blue is less than five, Thassa isn't a creature. (Each in the mana costs of permanents you control counts toward your devotion to blue.)
At the beginning of your upkeep, scry 1.
: Target creature you control can't be blocked this turn.

Official Rulings for Thassa, God of the Sea

9/15/2013 : Activating Thassa’s last ability after the target creature has been blocked won’t change or undo the block.

9/15/2013 : Numeric mana symbols (, , and so on) in mana costs of permanents you control don’t count toward your devotion to any color.

9/15/2013 : Mana symbols in the text boxes of permanents you control don’t count toward your devotion to any color.

9/15/2013 : Hybrid mana symbols, monocolored hybrid mana symbols, and Phyrexian mana symbols do count toward your devotion to their color(s).

9/15/2013 : If an activated ability or triggered ability has an effect that depends on your devotion to a color, you count the number of mana symbols of that color among the mana costs of permanents you control as the ability resolves. The permanent with that ability will be counted if it’s still on the battlefield at that time.

9/15/2013 : When you scry, you may put all the cards you look at back on top of your library, you may put all of those cards on the bottom of your library, or you may put some of those cards on top and the rest of them on the bottom.

9/15/2013 : You choose how to order cards returned to your library after scrying no matter where you put them.

9/15/2013 : You perform the actions stated on a card in sequence. For some spells and abilities, that means you’ll scry last. For others, that means you’ll scry and then perform other actions.

9/15/2013 : Scry appears on some spells and abilities with one or more targets. If all of the spell or ability’s targets are illegal when it tries to resolve, it will be countered and none of its effects will happen. You won’t scry.

9/15/2013 : The type-changing ability that can make the God not be a creature functions only on the battlefield. It’s always a creature card in other zones, regardless of your devotion to its color.

9/15/2013 : If a God enters the battlefield, your devotion to its color (including the mana symbols in the mana cost of the God itself) will determine if a creature entered the battlefield or not, for abilities that trigger whenever a creature enters the battlefield.

9/15/2013 : If a God stops being a creature, it loses the type creature and all creature subtypes. It continues to be a legendary enchantment.

9/15/2013 : The abilities of Gods function as long as they’re on the battlefield, regardless of whether they’re creatures.

9/15/2013 : If a God is attacking or blocking and it stops being a creature, it will be removed from combat.

9/15/2013 : If a God is dealt damage, then stops being a creature, then becomes a creature again later in the same turn, the damage will still be marked on it. This is also true for any effects that were affecting the God when it was originally a creature. (Note that in most cases, the damage marked on the God won’t matter because it has indestructible.)

 
 

Comments on Thassa, God of the Sea

Feel free to post any comments or questions you have on Thassa, God of the Sea. Please be respectful of others. Any spam or trolling posts will be removed. Repeat offenders may be banned.

Author: fish

Date: August 28, 2013

Comment:

holy hell!! wth?!! this card is sooooo overpowered!

Author: yumiorito

Date: August 31, 2013

Comment:

even when it's not a creature its powerful...may make me want to start playing blue

Author: Aholy Lulz

Date: October 28, 2013

Comment:

Why make it a creature?? Someone could use unsummon if it became a creature