SHARE
URL:
Link

Tar Fiend | Magic: The Gathering

 

Formats Tar Fiend is Legal in

Block
Standard
Modern
Legacy
Vintage
Commander
 
 

Sets Tar Fiend is in

Edition
Price
In-Stock

0.95
0

 
 

Official Oracle Text for Tar Fiend

Card Name:
Tar Fiend
Casting Cost:
Type:
Creature — Elemental

Card Text:
Devour 2 (As this enters the battlefield, you may sacrifice any number of creatures. This creature enters the battlefield with twice that many +1/+1 counters on it.)
When Tar Fiend enters the battlefield, target player discards a card for each creature it devoured.

Official Rulings for Tar Fiend

10/1/2008 : You may choose not to sacrifice any creatures for the Devour ability.

10/1/2008 : If you cast this as a spell, you choose how many and which creatures to devour as part of the resolution of that spell. (It can't be countered at this point.) The same is true of a spell or ability that lets you put a creature with devour onto the battlefield.

10/1/2008 : You may sacrifice only creatures that are already on the battlefield. If a creature with devour and another creature are entering the battlefield under your control at the same time, the creature with devour can't devour that other creature. The creature with devour also can't devour itself.

10/1/2008 : If multiple creatures with devour are entering the battlefield under your control at the same time, you may use each one's devour ability. A creature you already control can be devoured by only one of them, however. (In other words, you can't sacrifice the same creature to satisfy multiple devour abilities.) All creatures devoured this way are sacrificed at the same time.

 
 

Comments on Tar Fiend

Feel free to post any comments or questions you have on Tar Fiend. Please be respectful of others. Any spam or trolling posts will be removed. Repeat offenders may be banned.