SHARE
URL:
Link

Tamiyo, the Moon Sage | Magic: The Gathering

 

Formats Tamiyo, the Moon Sage is Legal in

Block
Standard
Modern
Legacy
Vintage
Commander
 
 

Sets Tamiyo, the Moon Sage is in

Edition
Price
In-Stock

14.95
0

Tokens Related to Tamiyo, the Moon Sage

Token
Set
Price
In-Stock

Emblem
2.95
0

 
 

Official Oracle Text for Tamiyo, the Moon Sage

Card Name:
Tamiyo, the Moon Sage
Casting Cost:
Type:
Planeswalker — Tamiyo

Card Text:
+1: Tap target permanent. It doesn't untap during its controller's next untap step.
−2: Draw a card for each tapped creature target player controls.
−8: You get an emblem with "You have no maximum hand size" and "Whenever a card is put into your graveyard from anywhere, you may return it to your hand."

Official Rulings for Tamiyo, the Moon Sage

5/1/2012 : Tamiyo's first ability tracks the permanent, but not its controller. If the permanent changes controllers before its first controller's next untap step has come around, then it won't untap during its new controller's next untap step.

5/1/2012 : The number of tapped creatures the player controls is determined when Tamiyo's second ability resolves.

5/1/2012 : Tamiyo's third ability creates one emblem with two abilities.

5/1/2012 : If you activate Tamiyo's third ability when she has eight loyalty counters on her, she'll be put into your graveyard before the emblem is created. She won't return to your hand.

5/1/2012 : Cards that are put into your graveyard can be returned to your hand by the emblem's ability even if they were never in your hand.

7/1/2013 : The ability can target a tapped permanent. If the targeted permanent is already tapped when it resolves, that permanent just remains tapped and doesn't untap during its controller's next untap step.

7/1/2013 : Planeswalkers are permanents. You can cast one at the time you could cast a sorcery. When your planeswalker spell resolves, it enters the battlefield under your control.

7/1/2013 : Planeswalkers are not creatures. Spells and abilities that affect creatures won’t affect them.

7/1/2013 : Planeswalkers have loyalty. A planeswalker enters the battlefield with a number of loyalty counters on it equal to the number printed in its lower right corner. Activating one of its abilities may cause it to gain or lose loyalty counters. Damage dealt to a planeswalker causes that many loyalty counters to be removed from it. If it has no loyalty counters on it, it’s put into its owner’s graveyard as a state-based action.

7/1/2013 : Planeswalkers each have a number of activated abilities called “loyalty abilities.” You can activate a loyalty ability of a planeswalker you control only at the time you could cast a sorcery and only if you haven’t activated one of that planeswalker’s loyalty abilities yet that turn.

7/1/2013 : The cost to activate a planeswalker’s loyalty ability is represented by a symbol with a number inside. Up-arrows contain positive numbers, such as “+1”; this means “Put one loyalty counter on this planeswalker.” Down-arrows contain negative numbers, such as “-7”; this means “Remove seven loyalty counters from this planeswalker.” A symbol with a “0” means “Put zero loyalty counters on this planeswalker.”

7/1/2013 : You can’t activate a planeswalker’s ability with a negative loyalty cost unless the planeswalker has at least that many loyalty counters on it.

7/1/2013 : Planeswalkers can’t attack (unless an effect turns the planeswalker into a creature). However, they can be attacked. Each of your attacking creatures can attack your opponent or a planeswalker that player controls. You say which as you declare attackers.

7/1/2013 : If your planeswalkers are being attacked, you can block the attackers as normal.

7/1/2013 : If a creature that’s attacking a planeswalker isn’t blocked, it’ll deal its combat damage to that planeswalker. Damage dealt to a planeswalker causes that many loyalty counters to be removed from it.

7/1/2013 : If a source you control would deal noncombat damage to an opponent, you may have that source deal that damage to a planeswalker that opponent controls instead. For example, although you can’t target a planeswalker with Shock, you can target your opponent with Shock, and then as Shock resolves, choose to have Shock deal its 2 damage to one of your opponent’s planeswalkers. (You can’t split up that damage between different players and/or planeswalkers.) If you have Shock deal its damage to a planeswalker, two loyalty counters are removed from it.

7/1/2013 : If a player controls two or more planeswalkers that share a planeswalker type, that player chooses one of them and the rest are put into their owners’ graveyards as a state-based action.

 
 

Comments on Tamiyo, the Moon Sage

Feel free to post any comments or questions you have on Tamiyo, the Moon Sage. Please be respectful of others. Any spam or trolling posts will be removed. Repeat offenders may be banned.

Author: Ng Wei Yang Anthony

Date: April 11, 2012

Comment:

She came from Kamigawa? 

Author: Azariel1819

Date: April 12, 2012

Comment:

I'm new to the hole magic thing but wouldn't this card get a bit out of hand quite quickly?

Author: Majesticpenguin

Date: April 12, 2012

Comment:

Venser just took a boot to the face.

Author: Pokenut147

Date: April 12, 2012

Comment:

Yay another awesome blue planeswalker! If you can protect her long enough so she can use her ultimate, the ensuing card advantage would be enormous. You can literally recycle the same Mana Leak or Doom Blade over and over and over....

Author: Pokenut147

Date: April 12, 2012

Comment:

Yeah, she's a Moonfolk from Kamigawa.

Author: JinGitaxis

Date: April 12, 2012

Comment:

What the **** is a Soratomi from Kamigawa doing on the plane on Innistrad?

Author: FrozenGuardian

Date: April 12, 2012

Comment:

just cuz she can lol, she is a flippin PLANESWALKER for god sakes

Author: Jniu

Date: April 12, 2012

Comment:

it can. considering she gets the protection she needs. any planeswalker ultimate can get out of hand. the fact that it's a five drop and takes 4 turns makes it powerful, but not overly broken. at least she's not jace the mind sculpter

Author: Jniu

Date: April 12, 2012

Comment:

i was hoping for the merfolk planeswalker. at least it's jace for a change

Author: TheHunted

Date: April 14, 2012

Comment:

yea like seriously kinda late on this one...but still a pretty sweet card

Author: Boxer1234567

Date: April 14, 2012

Comment:

yeah:-)

Author: Pepe

Date: April 14, 2012

Comment:

I want to see the R/U dragon planeswalker, but thta is good too.

Author: Joe

Date: April 15, 2012

Comment:

His First turn: island
Your first turn: whatever
His Second turn: island and temporal mastery
Extra Turn: island and temporal mastery
2nd Extra Turn: island and temporal mastery
3rd Extra Turn: island and Tamiyo
Your second turn:  Fold

Author: Tokidoki420

Date: April 24, 2012

Comment:

 temporal mastery exiles itself never touches the gravyard

Author: Lezander

Date: April 28, 2012

Comment:

 That, and you can't turn 2 temporal mastery.

Author: Mykatzz

Date: April 28, 2012

Comment:

this...is so great. awesome w/ Jace in mill deck.

Author: taktix

Date: May 11, 2012

Comment:

Temporal has a miracle cost, its very possible to hit it on Turn 2, his combo just relies on you hitting it every turn for four turns. But I think his point is just that an early Tamiyo can wreck the whole game for an opponent.

Author: Blight

Date: June 08, 2012

Comment:

 Well you can, through it's miracle cost. Although the likely hood that you draw 3 temporal masterys one right after another is not high.

Author: Korito

Date: June 15, 2012

Comment:

Tamiyo and battle hymn = infinite red mana

Author: mountain kid

Date: September 01, 2013

Comment:

There is an emblem card for her...