SHARE
URL:
Link

Tainted Sigil | Magic: The Gathering

 

Formats Tainted Sigil is Legal in

Block
Standard
Modern
Legacy
Vintage
Commander
 
 

Sets Tainted Sigil is in

Edition
Price
In-Stock

0.15
0

 
 

Official Oracle Text for Tainted Sigil

Card Name:
Tainted Sigil
Casting Cost:
Type:
Artifact

Card Text:
, Sacrifice Tainted Sigil: You gain life equal to the total life lost by all players this turn. (Damage causes loss of life.)

Flavor Text:
Sigils corrupted by outsiders do not lose their power, only their purity.

Official Rulings for Tainted Sigil

5/1/2009 : Tainted Sigil's ability counts the life lost by all players, including you.

5/1/2009 : When Tainted Sigil's ability resolves, it checks how much life each player lost over the course of the turn, then it totals that number and you gain that much life in one shot. It doesn't matter how a player lost life or what caused it. It also doesn't matter if Tainted Sigil wasn't on the battlefield when some or all of the life was lost.

5/1/2009 : If you lose enough life to lower your life total to 0 or less, you'll lose the game as a state-based actions before you activate Tainted Sigil's ability.

5/1/2009 : Tainted Sigil's ability checks only whether life was lost. It doesn't care whether life was also gained. For example, say one player lost 4 life during the turn and no one else lost any, but that same player also gained 6 life that turn. That player has a higher life total than he or she started the turn with -- but Tainted Sigil's ability counts only the life loss, so you'll gain 4 life.

 
 

Comments on Tainted Sigil

Feel free to post any comments or questions you have on Tainted Sigil. Please be respectful of others. Any spam or trolling posts will be removed. Repeat offenders may be banned.