Sygg, River Cutthroat | Magic: The Gathering


Formats Sygg, River Cutthroat is Legal in


Sets Sygg, River Cutthroat is in




Official Oracle Text for Sygg, River Cutthroat

Card Name:
Sygg, River Cutthroat
Casting Cost:
Legendary Creature — Merfolk Rogue

Card Text:
At the beginning of each end step, if an opponent lost 3 or more life this turn, you may draw a card. (Damage causes loss of life.)

Flavor Text:
"It's not a matter of deserving. It's a matter of strength. The power to hold versus the power to take."

Official Rulings for Sygg, River Cutthroat

5/1/2008 : As the end step begins, Sygg's ability checks whether a player who is currently your opponent, or a player who was your opponent at the time he or she left the game, has lost 3 or more life over the course of the turn. If so, the ability will trigger. If not, it won't.

5/1/2008 : It doesn't matter how the opponent lost life or who caused it, as long as the total loss of life is 3 or more.

5/1/2008 : Sygg's ability checks only whether life was lost. It doesn't care whether life was also gained. For example, if an opponent lost 4 life and gained 6 life during the turn, that player will have a higher life total than he or she started the turn with -- but Sygg's ability will trigger anyway.

5/1/2008 : You don't specify an opponent when the ability triggers. If multiple opponents have lost 3 or more life over the course of the turn, the ability will trigger only once.

5/1/2008 : Sygg's ability will trigger even if Sygg wasn't on the battlefield at the time some or all of the life was lost.

5/1/2008 : Sygg's ability checks to see if it triggers at the end of every turn. It doesn't have to be your turn, and it doesn't have to be the turn of the opponent that lost life.


Comments on Sygg, River Cutthroat

Feel free to post any comments or questions you have on Sygg, River Cutthroat. Please be respectful of others. Any spam or trolling posts will be removed. Repeat offenders may be banned.