SHARE
URL:
Link

Suffer the Past | Magic: The Gathering

 

Formats Suffer the Past is Legal in

Block
Standard
Modern
Legacy
Vintage
Commander
 
 

Sets Suffer the Past is in

Edition
Price
In-Stock

0.25
0

 
 

Official Oracle Text for Suffer the Past

Card Name:
Suffer the Past
Casting Cost:
Type:
Instant

Card Text:
Exile X target cards from target player's graveyard. For each card exiled this way, that player loses 1 life and you gain 1 life.

Flavor Text:
Ulamog's tentacles, their touch like burning ice, rummaged through his soul and stung his memories one by one.

Official Rulings for Suffer the Past

6/15/2010 : The life that's lost and the life that's gained are based on the number of cards that are actually exiled, not on the value of X (in case any of the targeted cards somehow leave the graveyard in response and thus can't be exiled this way).

6/15/2010 : If the targeted player becomes an illegal target by the time Suffer the Past resolves but the targeted cards don't, you still exile the cards and gain life. The player won't be lose any life, though.

6/15/2010 : Suffer the Past's effect causes a single life-gain event, not a number of separate ones. This matters for cards such as Cradle of Vitality.

 
 

Comments on Suffer the Past

Feel free to post any comments or questions you have on Suffer the Past. Please be respectful of others. Any spam or trolling posts will be removed. Repeat offenders may be banned.