Strange Inversion | Magic: The Gathering


Formats Strange Inversion is Legal in


Sets Strange Inversion is in




Official Oracle Text for Strange Inversion

Card Name:
Strange Inversion
Casting Cost:
Instant — Arcane

Card Text:
Switch target creature's power and toughness until end of turn.
Splice onto Arcane (As you cast an Arcane spell, you may reveal this card from your hand and pay its splice cost. If you do, add this card's effects to that spell.)

Official Rulings for Strange Inversion

4/15/2013 : Effects that switch power and toughness apply after all other effects that change power and/or toughness, regardless of which effect was created first.

4/15/2013 : Switching a creature's power and toughness twice (or any even number of times) effectively returns the creature to the power and toughness it had before any switches.

6/7/2013 : You reveal all cards you intend to splice at the same time. Each individual card can be spliced only once onto any one spell.

6/7/2013 : A card with a splice ability can't be spliced onto itself because the spell is on the stack (and not in your hand) when you reveal the cards you want to splice onto it.

6/7/2013 : You choose all targets for the spell after revealing cards you want to splice, including any targets required by the text of any of those cards. You may choose a different target for each instance of the word "target" on the resulting spell.

6/7/2013 : If all of the spell's targets are illegal when the spell tries to resolve, it will be countered and none of its effects will happen.


Comments on Strange Inversion

Feel free to post any comments or questions you have on Strange Inversion. Please be respectful of others. Any spam or trolling posts will be removed. Repeat offenders may be banned.