Stoic Rebuttal | Magic: The Gathering
Formats Stoic Rebuttal is Legal in
Official Oracle Text for Stoic Rebuttal
Counter target spell.
Official Rulings for Stoic Rebuttal
1/1/2011 : For the purpose of determining whether the cost reduction applies, the number of artifacts you control is checked as you cast Stoic Rebuttal, before your last chance to activate mana abilities to pay for it. For example, if you control three artifacts, you could determine that Stoic Rebuttal costs to cast, then sacrifice one of those artifacts to activate a mana ability.