Staff of the Death Magus | Magic: The Gathering
Formats Staff of the Death Magus is Legal in
Official Oracle Text for Staff of the Death Magus
Official Rulings for Staff of the Death Magus
7/1/2013 : Many nonbasic lands don’t have basic land types, even if they produce colored mana. Such a land entering the battlefield will not trigger this card's ability.
7/1/2013 : If you cast a copy of a card that's the appropriate color, the ability will trigger. However, if you simply copy a spell on the stack that's the appropriate color the ability will not trigger.