Spiny Starfish | Magic: The Gathering
Formats Spiny Starfish is Legal in
Official Oracle Text for Spiny Starfish
At the beginning of each end step, if Spiny Starfish regenerated this turn, put a 0/1 blue Starfish creature token onto the battlefield for each time it regenerated this turn.
Official Rulings for Spiny Starfish
10/1/2009 : Spiny Starfish's first ability creates a regeneration shield for it. Spiny Starfish's second ability checks whether it _used_ any regeneration shields that turn, not whether any regeneration shields were created for it.
10/1/2009 : The second ability doesn't care where the regeneration shields Spiny Starfish used that turn came from. If it regenerated due to a regeneration shield from Refresh, for example, the ability will still put a Starfish token onto the battlefield.
10/1/2009 : The second ability has an "intervening 'if' clause," so it won't trigger at all unless Spiny Starfish had regenerated that turn. However, the number of tokens that are created isn't determined until the ability resolves (in case it regenerates again before that time).
10/1/2009 : If Spiny Starfish regenerates during the end step after its second ability has resolved, no tokens will be created as a result.