Shipbreaker Kraken | Magic: The Gathering
Formats Shipbreaker Kraken is Legal in
Official Oracle Text for Shipbreaker Kraken
When Shipbreaker Kraken becomes monstrous, tap up to four target creatures. Those creatures don't untap during their controllers' untap steps for as long as you control Shipbreaker Kraken.
Official Rulings for Shipbreaker Kraken
9/15/2013 : If another player gains control of Shipbreaker Kraken, the creatures will no longer be affected by the effect preventing them from untapping, even if you later regain control of Shipbreaker Kraken.
9/15/2013 : If you gain control of a creature that’s being prevented from untapping, that creature won’t untap during your untap step for as long as you control Shipbreaker Kraken.
9/15/2013 : The ability can target a tapped creature. If a targeted creature is already tapped when it resolves, that creature just remains tapped and doesn’t untap during its controller’s untap step.
9/15/2013 : Once a creature becomes monstrous, it can’t become monstrous again. If the creature is already monstrous when the monstrosity ability resolves, nothing happens.
9/15/2013 : Monstrous isn’t an ability that a creature has. It’s just something true about that creature. If the creature stops being a creature or loses its abilities, it will continue to be monstrous.
9/15/2013 : An ability that triggers when a creature becomes monstrous won’t trigger if that creature isn’t on the battlefield when its monstrosity ability resolves.