SHARE
URL:
Link

Sheltering Ancient | Magic: The Gathering

 

Formats Sheltering Ancient is Legal in

Block
Standard
Modern
Legacy
Vintage
Commander
 
 

Sets Sheltering Ancient is in

Edition
Price
In-Stock

0.00
0

 
 

Official Oracle Text for Sheltering Ancient

Card Name:
Sheltering Ancient
Casting Cost:
Type:
Creature — Treefolk

Card Text:
Trample
Cumulative upkeep—Put a +1/+1 counter on a creature an opponent controls. (At the beginning of your upkeep, put an age counter on this permanent, then sacrifice it unless you pay its upkeep cost for each age counter on it.)

Official Rulings for Sheltering Ancient

7/15/2006 : If no opponent controls a creature, you can't pay the upkeep and must sacrifice Sheltering Ancient.

7/15/2006 : You may choose a different creature to put each counter on, but you can also choose the same creature multiple times. The creatures don't have to be controlled by the same opponent.

7/15/2006 : Creatures that can't be the target of abilities can have +1/+1 counters put on them by Sheltering Ancient's cumulative upkeep ability because it doesn't target them. The same is true for creatures with protection from green or protection from any other quality Sheltering Ancient has.

10/1/2008 : Paying cumulative upkeep is always optional. If it's not paid, the permanent with cumulative upkeep is sacrificed. Partial payments of the total cumulative upkeep cost can't be made. For example, if a permanent with "cumulative upkeep " has three age counters on it when its cumulative upkeep ability triggers, it gets another age counter and then its controller chooses to either pay or sacrifice the permanent.

 
 

Comments on Sheltering Ancient

Feel free to post any comments or questions you have on Sheltering Ancient. Please be respectful of others. Any spam or trolling posts will be removed. Repeat offenders may be banned.