SHARE
URL:
Link

Shape Stealer | Magic: The Gathering

 

Formats Shape Stealer is Legal in

Block
Standard
Modern
Legacy
Vintage
Commander
 
 

Sets Shape Stealer is in

Edition
Price
In-Stock

0.00
0

 
 

Official Oracle Text for Shape Stealer

Card Name:
Shape Stealer
Casting Cost:
Type:
Creature — Shapeshifter Spirit

Card Text:
Whenever Shape Stealer blocks or becomes blocked by a creature, Shape Stealer has base power and toughness equal to that creature's power and toughness until end of turn.

Flavor Text:
"Stand back. I know just what to do."
—Kiki-Jiki, Mirror Breaker

Official Rulings for Shape Stealer

6/1/2005 : This ability triggers once for each creature blocked by or blocking Shape Stealer. If multiple creatures block it, Shape Stealer's power and toughness will change for each one in succession. The first trigger put on the stack will be the last to resolve, so that will set Shape Stealer's final power and toughness.

6/1/2005 : The other creature's power and toughness are determined as the triggered ability resolves.

6/1/2005 : If the other creature has bushido, whether Shape Stealer gets the bushido bonus depends on whose turn it is. If Shape Stealer is blocking, it won't get the attacker's bushido bonus. If the Shape Stealer is being blocked, the bushido ability will resolve just before Shape Stealer determines what the creature's power and toughness are.

6/1/2005 : If Shape Stealer's new toughness is less than any damage on Shape Stealer, Shape Stealer will be destroyed as a state-based action once the triggered ability resolves.

6/1/2005 : Once the ability resolves, changing the other creature's power or toughness doesn't affect Shape Stealer.

10/1/2009 : You apply power/toughness changing effects in a series of sublayers in the following order: (a) effects from characteristic-defining abilities; (b) effects that set power and/or toughness to a specific number or value; (c) effects that modify power and/or toughness but don't set power and/or toughness to a specific number or value; (d) changes from counters; (e) effects that switch a creature's power and toughness. This card's effect is always applied in (b), which means that effects applied in sublayer (c), (d), or (e) will not be overwritten; they will be applied to the new value.

 
 

Comments on Shape Stealer

Feel free to post any comments or questions you have on Shape Stealer. Please be respectful of others. Any spam or trolling posts will be removed. Repeat offenders may be banned.