Scythe Specter | Magic: The Gathering


Formats Scythe Specter is Legal in


Sets Scythe Specter is in




Official Oracle Text for Scythe Specter

Card Name:
Scythe Specter
Casting Cost:
Creature — Specter

Card Text:
Whenever Scythe Specter deals combat damage to a player, each opponent discards a card. Each player who discarded a card with the highest converted mana cost among cards discarded this way loses life equal to that converted mana cost.

Official Rulings for Scythe Specter

9/22/2011 : Each opponent in turn order chooses a card to discard without revealing it, then all the chosen cards are discarded simultaneously. No one sees what the other players are discarding before deciding which card to discard.

9/22/2011 : If there are multiple cards tied for the highest converted mana cost, each player who discarded one of those cards will lose life equal to that converted mana cost.

9/22/2011 : If an opponent discards a split card, each side will be considered separately. For example, if the first opponent discards Wax/Wane (a split card with converted mana costs 1 and 1), a second opponent discards Giant Growth (converted mana cost 1), and all other opponents discard land cards, the first and second opponents each lose 1 life.

9/22/2011 : If Scythe Specter deals combat damage to multiple players simultaneously (perhaps because some of the combat damage was redirected to another player), its ability will trigger for each of those players.

9/22/2011 : In a Two-Headed Giant game, each member of the opposing team will be able to see the other's hand before deciding what to discard. If each member discards a card with the same converted mana cost, each player will lose that much life, resulting in the team losing life equal to twice that converted mana cost.


Comments on Scythe Specter

Feel free to post any comments or questions you have on Scythe Specter. Please be respectful of others. Any spam or trolling posts will be removed. Repeat offenders may be banned.