Sculpting Steel | Magic: The Gathering
Formats Sculpting Steel is Legal in
Official Oracle Text for Sculpting Steel
Official Rulings for Sculpting Steel
7/15/2007 : Sculpting Steel doesn't copy whether the original artifact is tapped or untapped. It also doesn't copy any counters on that artifact, any Auras or Equipment attached to that artifact, or any effects that are currently affecting that artifact -- you get exactly what's printed on the chosen card and nothing more. So if you copy an animated Chimeric Staff, for example, you get a normal, nonanimated Chimeric Staff.
7/15/2007 : If the chosen artifact is copying something else (for example, if the chosen artifact is another Sculpting Steel), then your Sculpting Steel enters the battlefield as whatever the chosen artifact copied.
7/15/2007 : If the chosen artifact is a token, your Sculpting Steel copies the original characteristics of that token as stated by the effect that put it onto the battlefield. Your Sculpting Steel is not considered to be a token.
7/15/2007 : You can choose not to copy anything. In that case, Sculpting Steel stays on the battlefield as an artifact that doesn't do much of anything.