SHARE
URL:
Link

Sarkhan the Mad | Magic: The Gathering

 

Formats Sarkhan the Mad is Legal in

Block
Standard
Modern
Legacy
Vintage
Commander
 
 

Sets Sarkhan the Mad is in

Edition
Price
In-Stock

9.95
0

Tokens Related to Sarkhan the Mad

Token
Set
Price
In-Stock

Dragon
0.75
0

Dragon
0.95
4

Dragon
1.25
0

Dragon
1.95
2

Dragon
0.25
0

Dragon
0.25
0

Dragon
0.25
0

 
 

Official Oracle Text for Sarkhan the Mad

Card Name:
Sarkhan the Mad
Casting Cost:
Type:
Planeswalker — Sarkhan

Card Text:
0: Reveal the top card of your library and put it into your hand. Sarkhan the Mad deals damage to himself equal to that card's converted mana cost.
−2: Target creature's controller sacrifices it, then that player puts a 5/5 red Dragon creature token with flying onto the battlefield.
−4: Each Dragon creature you control deals damage equal to its power to target player.

Official Rulings for Sarkhan the Mad

6/15/2010 : Unlike previous planeswalkers, Sarkhan the Mad has no way to raise his loyalty.

6/15/2010 : Once the first ability starts to resolve and you reveal the top card of your library (and see how much damage Sarkhan the Mad deals to himself), it's too late to respond.

6/15/2010 : The first ability causes Sarkhan to deal damage directly to himself, resulting in that many loyalty counters being removed from him. The damage would never have been dealt to you, so prevention effects that would prevent damage from being dealt to you won't affect it.

6/15/2010 : If the targeted creature is an illegal target by the time the second ability resolves, the ability is countered. The player won't get a Dragon token.

6/15/2010 : If the targeted creature is a legal target by the time the second ability resolves but its controller can't sacrifice it (due to Tajuru Preserver, perhaps), the ability continues to resolve. That player gets a Dragon token.

6/15/2010 : You choose a single target as you activate the third ability. All your Dragons deal damage to that player.

6/15/2010 : If you target an opponent with the third ability, you choose separately for each Dragon creature you control whether or not to redirect the damage dealt by that Dragon to a planeswalker that player controls.

7/1/2013 : Planeswalkers are permanents. You can cast one at the time you could cast a sorcery. When your planeswalker spell resolves, it enters the battlefield under your control.

7/1/2013 : Planeswalkers are not creatures. Spells and abilities that affect creatures won’t affect them.

7/1/2013 : Planeswalkers have loyalty. A planeswalker enters the battlefield with a number of loyalty counters on it equal to the number printed in its lower right corner. Activating one of its abilities may cause it to gain or lose loyalty counters. Damage dealt to a planeswalker causes that many loyalty counters to be removed from it. If it has no loyalty counters on it, it’s put into its owner’s graveyard as a state-based action.

7/1/2013 : Planeswalkers each have a number of activated abilities called “loyalty abilities.” You can activate a loyalty ability of a planeswalker you control only at the time you could cast a sorcery and only if you haven’t activated one of that planeswalker’s loyalty abilities yet that turn.

7/1/2013 : The cost to activate a planeswalker’s loyalty ability is represented by a symbol with a number inside. Up-arrows contain positive numbers, such as “+1”; this means “Put one loyalty counter on this planeswalker.” Down-arrows contain negative numbers, such as “-7”; this means “Remove seven loyalty counters from this planeswalker.” A symbol with a “0” means “Put zero loyalty counters on this planeswalker.”

7/1/2013 : You can’t activate a planeswalker’s ability with a negative loyalty cost unless the planeswalker has at least that many loyalty counters on it.

7/1/2013 : Planeswalkers can’t attack (unless an effect turns the planeswalker into a creature). However, they can be attacked. Each of your attacking creatures can attack your opponent or a planeswalker that player controls. You say which as you declare attackers.

7/1/2013 : If your planeswalkers are being attacked, you can block the attackers as normal.

7/1/2013 : If a creature that’s attacking a planeswalker isn’t blocked, it’ll deal its combat damage to that planeswalker. Damage dealt to a planeswalker causes that many loyalty counters to be removed from it.

7/1/2013 : If a source you control would deal noncombat damage to an opponent, you may have that source deal that damage to a planeswalker that opponent controls instead. For example, although you can’t target a planeswalker with Shock, you can target your opponent with Shock, and then as Shock resolves, choose to have Shock deal its 2 damage to one of your opponent’s planeswalkers. (You can’t split up that damage between different players and/or planeswalkers.) If you have Shock deal its damage to a planeswalker, two loyalty counters are removed from it.

7/1/2013 : If a player controls two or more planeswalkers that share a planeswalker type, that player chooses one of them and the rest are put into their owners’ graveyards as a state-based action.

 
 

Comments on Sarkhan the Mad

Feel free to post any comments or questions you have on Sarkhan the Mad. Please be respectful of others. Any spam or trolling posts will be removed. Repeat offenders may be banned.

Author: Hopeitsrainingout

Date: February 07, 2012

Comment:

Terrible Plainswalker, why is it more than a one drop? If there are any reasonable combos with it please let me know and change my mind.

Author: killer jack

Date: May 01, 2013

Comment:

man, this card is worse than most.

Author: larkeith

Date: May 26, 2013

Comment:

The only way I could see this being useful is with a proliferate deck; Using his -2 on some 1/1s then proliferating the loyalty back could be nice.

Author: TheShadeboi

Date: June 19, 2013

Comment:

you can combo by using the ult on sarkon vol killing him then imidiatly play him and use his -4

Author: austin

Date: August 30, 2013

Comment:

i want that card!!!

Author: The Phantrim

Date: November 10, 2013

Comment:

Suck it, Rakdos.