Sages of the Anima | Magic: The Gathering


Formats Sages of the Anima is Legal in


Sets Sages of the Anima is in




Official Oracle Text for Sages of the Anima

Card Name:
Sages of the Anima
Casting Cost:
Creature — Elf Wizard

Card Text:
If you would draw a card, instead reveal the top three cards of your library. Put all creature cards revealed this way into your hand and the rest on the bottom of your library in any order.

Flavor Text:
Godtrackers found new pantheons of beast-gods beyond Naya's borders.

Official Rulings for Sages of the Anima

5/1/2009 : Other players don't get to see the order that you put the cards on the bottom of your library.

5/1/2009 : If an effect would cause you to draw multiple cards, each individual draw is replaced by Sages of the Anima's effect. Process the draws one at a time.

5/1/2009 : If there are fewer than three cards in your library, you'll reveal all of them.

5/1/2009 : This effect is mandatory. Even if there are no more creature cards in your library, you have to do this instead of drawing a card.

5/1/2009 : If a spell or ability causes you to put cards in your hand without specifically using the word "draw," Sages of the Anima's ability won't affect it.

5/1/2009 : If two or more replacement effects would apply to a card-drawing event, the player who's drawing the card chooses what order to apply them. It's possible that after applying one of them, the others will no longer be applicable because the player would no longer draw a card. For example, if you have more than one Sages of the Anima on the battlefield and you would draw a card, each Sages of the Anima's replacement effect could apply. Once you use one, the rest are no longer applicable.


Comments on Sages of the Anima

Feel free to post any comments or questions you have on Sages of the Anima. Please be respectful of others. Any spam or trolling posts will be removed. Repeat offenders may be banned.