SHARE
URL:
Link

Restless Apparition | Magic: The Gathering

 

Formats Restless Apparition is Legal in

Block
Standard
Modern
Legacy
Vintage
Commander
 
 

Sets Restless Apparition is in

Edition
Price
In-Stock

0.25
2

 
 

Official Oracle Text for Restless Apparition

Card Name:
Restless Apparition
Casting Cost:
Type:
Creature — Spirit

Card Text:
: Restless Apparition gets +3/+3 until end of turn.
Persist (When this creature dies, if it had no -1/-1 counters on it, return it to the battlefield under its owner's control with a -1/-1 counter on it.)

Official Rulings for Restless Apparition

6/7/2013 : If a creature with persist stops being a creature, persist will still work.

6/7/2013 : The persist ability triggers when the permanent is put into a graveyard. Its last known information (that is, how the creature last existed on the battlefield) is used to determine whether it had a -1/-1 counter on it.

6/7/2013 : If a permanent has multiple instances of persist, they'll each trigger separately, but the redundant instances will have no effect. If one instance returns the card to the battlefield, the next to resolve will do nothing.

6/7/2013 : If a token with no -1/-1 counters on it has persist, the ability will trigger when the token is put into the graveyard. However, the token will cease to exist and can't return to the battlefield.

6/7/2013 : When a permanent with persist returns to the battlefield, it's a new object with no memory of or connection to its previous existence.

6/7/2013 : If multiple creatures with persist are put into the graveyard at the same time (due to combat damage or a spell that destroys all creatures, for example), the active player (the player whose turn it is) puts all of his or her persist triggers on the stack in any order, then each other player in turn order does the same. The last trigger put on the stack is the first one that resolves. That means that in a two-player game, the nonactive player's persist creatures will return to the battlefield first, then the active player's persist creatures do the same. The creatures return to the battlefield one at a time.

6/7/2013 : If a creature with persist that has +1/+1 counters on it receives enough -1/-1 counters to cause it to be destroyed by lethal damage or put into its owner's graveyard for having 0 or less toughness, persist won't trigger and the card won't return to the battlefield. That's because persist checks the creature's existence just before it leaves the battlefield, and it still has all those counters on it at that point.

 
 

Comments on Restless Apparition

Feel free to post any comments or questions you have on Restless Apparition. Please be respectful of others. Any spam or trolling posts will be removed. Repeat offenders may be banned.