SHARE
URL:
Link

Reincarnation | Magic: The Gathering

 

Formats Reincarnation is Legal in

Block
Standard
Modern
Legacy
Vintage
Commander
 
 

Sets Reincarnation is in

Edition
Price
In-Stock

0.00
0

0.00
0

 
 

Official Oracle Text for Reincarnation

Card Name:
Reincarnation
Casting Cost:
Type:
Instant

Card Text:
Choose target creature. When that creature dies this turn, return a creature card from its owner's graveyard to the battlefield under the control of that creature's owner.

Official Rulings for Reincarnation

4/1/2008 : A "creature card" is any card with the type Creature, even if it has other types such as Artifact, Enchantment, or Land. Older cards of type Summon are also Creature cards.

10/1/2009 : All Reincarnation does when it resolves is set up a delayed triggered ability. If the targeted creature isn't put into a graveyard this turn, that ability never triggers. If the targeted creature is put into a graveyard this turn, that ability triggers and resolves like any other triggered ability.

10/1/2009 : The creature card that will be returned to the battlefield isn't chosen until the delayed triggered ability resolves. The player who chooses is the player who controlled Reincarnation. The player under whose control the chosen creature card enters the battlefield is the player who owned the targeted creature (in other words, the player into whose graveyard it went), not necessarily the controller of that creature.

10/1/2009 : The creature that's returned to the battlefield may be the same one that was put into the graveyard (assuming it's still in the graveyard when the delayed triggered ability resolves). If so, it returns to the battlefield as a brand-new creature.

 
 

Comments on Reincarnation

Feel free to post any comments or questions you have on Reincarnation. Please be respectful of others. Any spam or trolling posts will be removed. Repeat offenders may be banned.