Rakdos, Lord of Riots | Magic: The Gathering


Formats Rakdos, Lord of Riots is Legal in


Sets Rakdos, Lord of Riots is in




Official Oracle Text for Rakdos, Lord of Riots

Card Name:
Rakdos, Lord of Riots
Casting Cost:
Legendary Creature — Demon

Card Text:
You can't cast Rakdos, Lord of Riots unless an opponent lost life this turn.
Flying, trample
Creature spells you cast cost less to cast for each 1 life your opponents have lost this turn.

Official Rulings for Rakdos, Lord of Riots

10/1/2012 : Remember, damage dealt to a player causes that player to lose that much life (unless the source has infect).

10/1/2012 : Rakdos can be put onto the battlefield by another spell or ability even if no opponent has lost life that turn.

10/1/2012 : Rakdos's last ability cares about the total life lost, not necessarily what an opponent's life total is compared to what it was at the beginning of the turn. For example, if an opponent loses 5 life and then gains 10 life in a turn, creature spells you cast will cost less to cast.

10/1/2012 : Rakdos's last ability can't reduce the colored mana requirement of a creature spell you cast.

10/1/2012 : If there are additional costs to cast a creature spell, such as a kicker cost or a cost imposed by the rules of a Commander game, apply those increases before applying cost reductions.

10/1/2012 : Rakdos's last ability won't reduce the cost to cast Rakdos itself. It applies only to creature spells you cast once Rakdos is on the battlefield.


Comments on Rakdos, Lord of Riots

Feel free to post any comments or questions you have on Rakdos, Lord of Riots. Please be respectful of others. Any spam or trolling posts will be removed. Repeat offenders may be banned.

Author: Tacosalad

Date: September 25, 2012


oly shinut this can't be good to look at on sunday

Author: frostyfire

Date: November 23, 2013


You should get more booster packs so you can pull rakdos