SHARE
URL:
Link

Pyromancer Ascension | Magic: The Gathering

 

Formats Pyromancer Ascension is Legal in

Block
Standard
Modern
Legacy
Vintage
Commander
 
 

Sets Pyromancer Ascension is in

Edition
Price
In-Stock

2.75
0

 
 

Official Oracle Text for Pyromancer Ascension

Card Name:
Pyromancer Ascension
Casting Cost:
Type:
Enchantment

Card Text:
Whenever you cast an instant or sorcery spell that has the same name as a card in your graveyard, you may put a quest counter on Pyromancer Ascension.
Whenever you cast an instant or sorcery spell while Pyromancer Ascension has two or more quest counters on it, you may copy that spell. You may choose new targets for the copy.

Official Rulings for Pyromancer Ascension

10/1/2009 : If either of Pyromancer Ascension's abilities triggers, it will go on the stack on top of the spell that caused it to trigger. The ability will resolve first. If it's Pyromancer Ascension's second ability that triggered, the copy it creates will also resolve before the original spell. The copy is created even if the original spell has been countered.

10/1/2009 : If Pyromancer Ascension's first ability triggers, you'll put a quest counter on it even if the card in your graveyard leaves your graveyard by the time the ability resolves.

10/1/2009 : If you cast an instant or sorcery spell from your graveyard (due to an ability such as retrace, for example), Pyromancer Ascension's first ability won't trigger unless another card with the same name is in your graveyard.

10/1/2009 : The second ability triggers only if Pyromancer Ascension already has two quest counters on it at the time you cast an instant or sorcery spell. This means a spell can't both cause the second counter to be put on Pyromancer Ascension and become copied.

10/1/2009 : If you copy a spell, the copy will have the same targets as the spell it's copying unless you choose new ones. You may change any number of the targets, including all of them or none of them.

10/1/2009 : You may copy an instant or sorcery spell that has no targets.

10/1/2009 : If the original spell was kicked, the copy is kicked too. Other decisions made for the original spell, such as the value of X or the mode, are also copied.

9/22/2011 : Both of these abilities trigger when a spell is cast, not when it resolves. This means that their effects will occur even if the Ascension is destroyed in response to such a spell being cast.

 
 

Comments on Pyromancer Ascension

Feel free to post any comments or questions you have on Pyromancer Ascension. Please be respectful of others. Any spam or trolling posts will be removed. Repeat offenders may be banned.