SHARE
URL:
Link

Purphoros, God of the Forge | Magic: The Gathering

 

Formats Purphoros, God of the Forge is Legal in

Block
Standard
Modern
Legacy
Vintage
Commander
 
 

Sets Purphoros, God of the Forge is in

Edition
Price
In-Stock

4.95
0

Foil Purphoros, God of the Forge

Edition
Price
In-Stock

19.95
1

 
 

Official Oracle Text for Purphoros, God of the Forge

Card Name:
Purphoros, God of the Forge
Casting Cost:
Type:
Legendary Enchantment Creature — God

Card Text:
Indestructible
As long as your devotion to red is less than five, Purphoros isn't a creature.
Whenever another creature enters the battlefield under your control, Purphoros deals 2 damage to each opponent.
: Creatures you control get +1/+0 until end of turn.

Official Rulings for Purphoros, God of the Forge

9/15/2013 : Numeric mana symbols (, , and so on) in mana costs of permanents you control don’t count toward your devotion to any color.

9/15/2013 : Mana symbols in the text boxes of permanents you control don’t count toward your devotion to any color.

9/15/2013 : Hybrid mana symbols, monocolored hybrid mana symbols, and Phyrexian mana symbols do count toward your devotion to their color(s).

9/15/2013 : If an activated ability or triggered ability has an effect that depends on your devotion to a color, you count the number of mana symbols of that color among the mana costs of permanents you control as the ability resolves. The permanent with that ability will be counted if it’s still on the battlefield at that time.

9/15/2013 : The type-changing ability that can make the God not be a creature functions only on the battlefield. It’s always a creature card in other zones, regardless of your devotion to its color.

9/15/2013 : If a God enters the battlefield, your devotion to its color (including the mana symbols in the mana cost of the God itself) will determine if a creature entered the battlefield or not, for abilities that trigger whenever a creature enters the battlefield.

9/15/2013 : If a God stops being a creature, it loses the type creature and all creature subtypes. It continues to be a legendary enchantment.

9/15/2013 : The abilities of Gods function as long as they’re on the battlefield, regardless of whether they’re creatures.

9/15/2013 : If a God is attacking or blocking and it stops being a creature, it will be removed from combat.

9/15/2013 : If a God is dealt damage, then stops being a creature, then becomes a creature again later in the same turn, the damage will still be marked on it. This is also true for any effects that were affecting the God when it was originally a creature. (Note that in most cases, the damage marked on the God won’t matter because it has indestructible.)

 
 

Comments on Purphoros, God of the Forge

Feel free to post any comments or questions you have on Purphoros, God of the Forge. Please be respectful of others. Any spam or trolling posts will be removed. Repeat offenders may be banned.

Author: Planeswalker175

Date: September 27, 2013

Comment:

this is amazing went to fnm won every game also built commander deck with this buy it

Author: james

Date: March 12, 2014

Comment:

What is devotion to red didnt under stand

Author: PWLAdmin

Date: March 13, 2014

Comment:

Devotion to Red is defined as "Each red mana symbol in the mana costs of permanents you control counts toward your devotion to red." So if the only permanent you had in play was Purphoros, God of the Forge, then your devotion to red would be 1.

Author: FailedNinja

Date: May 06, 2014

Comment:

imagine this with a goblin style deck...