SHARE
URL:
Link

Punishing Fire | Magic: The Gathering

 

Formats Punishing Fire is Legal in

Block
Standard
Modern
Legacy
Vintage
Commander
 
 

Sets Punishing Fire is in

Edition
Price
In-Stock

0.00
0

0.00
0

0.35
13

 
 

Official Oracle Text for Punishing Fire

Card Name:
Punishing Fire
Casting Cost:
Type:
Instant

Card Text:
Punishing Fire deals 2 damage to target creature or player.
Whenever an opponent gains life, you may pay . If you do, return Punishing Fire from your graveyard to your hand.

Official Rulings for Punishing Fire

10/1/2009 : Punishing Fire's triggered ability triggers only if it's already in your graveyard at the time an opponent gains life. For example, you can cast it in response to a spell or ability that will cause an opponent to gain life. In that case, Punishing Fire will resolve first, so it will be in the graveyard by the time the opponent gains life. However, if you wait until an opponent actually gains life and then cast Punishing Fire, you won't be able to return it to your hand at that time.

10/1/2009 : You choose whether to pay as the triggered ability resolves.

10/1/2009 : If Punishing Fire has left your graveyard by the time its triggered ability resolves, you may still pay , but you won't return it to your hand. This is true even if Punishing Fire has left your graveyard and returned to it by the time its triggered ability resolves.

 
 

Comments on Punishing Fire

Feel free to post any comments or questions you have on Punishing Fire. Please be respectful of others. Any spam or trolling posts will be removed. Repeat offenders may be banned.