SHARE
URL:
Link

Prototype Portal | Magic: The Gathering

 

Formats Prototype Portal is Legal in

Block
Standard
Modern
Legacy
Vintage
Commander
 
 

Sets Prototype Portal is in

Edition
Price
In-Stock

0.95
0

 
 

Official Oracle Text for Prototype Portal

Card Name:
Prototype Portal
Casting Cost:
Type:
Artifact

Card Text:
Imprint — When Prototype Portal enters the battlefield, you may exile an artifact card from your hand.
, : Put a token that's a copy of the exiled card onto the battlefield. X is the converted mana cost of that card.

Official Rulings for Prototype Portal

1/1/2011 : If Prototype Portal has left the battlefield by the time its second ability resolves, you'll still put a token onto the battlefield that's a copy of the exiled card. On the other hand, if Prototype Portal is still on the battlefield at this time but there is no exiled card (because, perhaps, Riftsweeper's ability caused the exiled card to be put into its owner's library), no token is created.

1/1/2011 : You don't choose the value of . Rather, the value of X is defined by the activated ability.

1/1/2011 : If the exiled card has in its mana cost (such as Chalice of the Void), that X is considered to be 0. The in Prototype Portal's activation cost takes this into account, though it may be greater than 0 if the exiled card has other mana symbols in its mana cost (such as Riptide Replicator).

1/1/2011 : You may not activate the second ability if no card has been exiled with Prototype Portal. In that case, the value of is undefined and can't be paid.

1/1/2011 : Any enters-the-battlefield abilities of the exiled card will trigger when the token is put onto the battlefield. Any "as [this permanent] enters the battlefield" or "[this permanent] enters the battlefield with" abilities of the exiled card will also work.

 
 

Comments on Prototype Portal

Feel free to post any comments or questions you have on Prototype Portal. Please be respectful of others. Any spam or trolling posts will be removed. Repeat offenders may be banned.