Possibility Storm | Magic: The Gathering

Formats Possibility Storm is Legal in

Format:
Block Constructed
Standard (T2)
Extended
Modern
Legacy
Vintage
Commander (EDH)
Legal:

Official Oracle Text for Possibility Storm

Card Name:
Possibility Storm
Casting Cost:
Type:
Enchantment

Card Text:
Whenever a player casts a spell from his or her hand, that player exiles it, then exiles cards from the top of his or her library until he or she exiles a card that shares a card type with it. That player may cast that card without paying its mana cost. Then he or she puts all cards exiled with Possibility Storm on the bottom of his or her library in a random order.

Official Rulings for Possibility Storm

4/15/2013 : Artifact, creature, enchantment, instant, land, planeswalker, sorcery, and tribal are card types. Two cards share a card type if they have at least one card type in common.

4/15/2013 : The original spell is part of the group of exiled cards put on the bottom of the library in a random order. If the exiled card that shared a card type with that card wasn't cast, it's also part of this group.

4/15/2013 : If Possibility Storm's ability doesn't exile the original spell (perhaps because another Possibility Storm already exiled it), you'll still exile cards from the top of your library until you exile a card that shares a card type with it and have the opportunity to cast that spell.

4/15/2013 : If you cast a spell without paying its mana cost, you can't pay any alternative costs, such as overload costs. You can pay additional costs, such as kicker costs. If the spell has any mandatory additional costs, you must pay those.

4/15/2013 : If the spell you cast from exile has X in its mana cost, you must choose 0 as its value.

4/15/2013 : Instant and sorcery cards with miracle allow a player to cast a card immediately upon drawing it. If a player casts a spell this way, the spell is cast from that player's hand. Possibility Storm will trigger.

Others who bought Possibility Storm also bought...

Epic Experiment
Haunted Plate Mail
Millstone
Guardian of the Ages
Door of Destinies

Comments on Possibility Storm

Feel free to post any comments or questions you have on Possibility Storm. Please be respectful of others. Any spam or trolling posts will be removed. Repeat offenders may be banned.

Author: Xero

Date: April 14, 2013

Comment:

Lim-Dul's Vault. Play it before this and rig the results!

Author: PWLAdmin

Date: April 14, 2013

Comment:

This card could be great for cheating things into play...or it can just be hilarious to watch how it messes up all of your opponent's carefully laid plans!

Author: Geoff Stephenson

Date: April 15, 2013

Comment:

Please clarify for me:

1) Once the spell is cast, it gets exiled...Does it resolve?
2) "...until he/she exiles card that shares type...". So, don't all cards (first, all in between and the one that matches) get exiled? In other words, if you cast a creature, then it and the next creature become exiled...
3) There are a number of creatures that have effects when cast...will their effects hit THEN they get exiled?

My point on 3) above is that this could be ugly...really, really ugly...unless 1) above is not the case....

Orrrr, are you casting a copy of the exiled card that matches the card type? In which case, there are still a number of cards with effects that will have effects upon hitting the battlefield (e.g., all the common Gatekeepers, Council of Abs, Deputy, Lavinia, Sin Collector, Trostani).

Author: PWLAdmin

Date: April 15, 2013

Comment:

1) No. When the card is exiled it is removed from the stack.
2) Yes. In your example the creature you cast and the next creature to be revealed (as well as any other cards revealed) are exiled. However, you have the option of casting the second exiled creature without paying it's mana cost.

3) That's a really good question. Not sure on this. We'll likely have to wait until WotC releases some official rulings on this card.

Author: Gabriel Chase

Date: April 19, 2013

Comment:

I think anything that triggers on casting will work、since it specifically says you can cast the card for free。ETB effects won’t trigger、however。

This is basically Polymorph for spells。 Nice if you can build a deck around it (this card is Izzet to the core!)。

Author: Jimmy James Alt

Date: May 07, 2013

Comment:

my question: what if someone casts a card type that they only have one of in their deck? If they try to cast their only planeswalker do they then exile their deck and effectively mill themselves because the 2nd step never occurred and therefore couldn't 'then put all cards exiled on the bottom of the deck'?

Author: PWLAdmin

Date: May 07, 2013

Comment:

I think that in that situation they would exile their entire deck, not be able to cast anything, and would lose the next time they were supposed to draw a card from their library. Though one would hope they wouldn't cast a card type they only have 1 of in their deck if Possibility Storm was in play.

Author: Andre

Date: August 01, 2013

Comment:

What if you have two possibility storms on the battlefield? Does the target player cast two cards of the same type for free?

Your Mana Pool

Log in to view your Mana Pool
Log In

Shopping Cart

...Cart is Empty...
 
Mono or Multi?
By Olivia Jelensky
 
Magic: The Gathering Flavor Text Quiz #2: Cryptic Texts
By Planeswalker's Library
 
The Humble Intro Pack
By Kyanna Kitt
Pokémon Products In-stock!
Journey into Nyx Spoiler!
Born of the Gods Accessories!
Report Error