Portent of Betrayal | Magic: The Gathering


Formats Portent of Betrayal is Legal in


Sets Portent of Betrayal is in




Official Oracle Text for Portent of Betrayal

Card Name:
Portent of Betrayal
Casting Cost:

Card Text:
Gain control of target creature until end of turn. Untap that creature. It gains haste until end of turn. Scry 1. (Look at the top card of your library. You may put that card on the bottom of your library.)

Official Rulings for Portent of Betrayal

9/15/2013 : Portent of Betrayal can target any creature, even one that’s untapped or one you already control.

9/15/2013 : Gaining control of a creature doesn’t cause you to gain control of any Auras or Equipment attached to it, although those permanents will stay attached to the creature.

9/15/2013 : When you scry, you may put all the cards you look at back on top of your library, you may put all of those cards on the bottom of your library, or you may put some of those cards on top and the rest of them on the bottom.

9/15/2013 : You choose how to order cards returned to your library after scrying no matter where you put them.

9/15/2013 : You perform the actions stated on a card in sequence. For some spells and abilities, that means you’ll scry last. For others, that means you’ll scry and then perform other actions.

9/15/2013 : Scry appears on some spells and abilities with one or more targets. If all of the spell or ability’s targets are illegal when it tries to resolve, it will be countered and none of its effects will happen. You won’t scry.


Comments on Portent of Betrayal

Feel free to post any comments or questions you have on Portent of Betrayal. Please be respectful of others. Any spam or trolling posts will be removed. Repeat offenders may be banned.