SHARE
URL:
Link

Portcullis | Magic: The Gathering

 

Formats Portcullis is Legal in

Block
Standard
Modern
Legacy
Vintage
Commander
 
 

Sets Portcullis is in

Edition
Price
In-Stock

0.00
0

 
 

Official Oracle Text for Portcullis

Card Name:
Portcullis
Casting Cost:
Type:
Artifact

Card Text:
Whenever a creature enters the battlefield, if there are two or more other creatures on the battlefield, exile that creature. Return that card to the battlefield under its owner's control when Portcullis leaves the battlefield.

Official Rulings for Portcullis

10/4/2004 : Creatures which are phasing in will not trigger this card's ability.

10/4/2004 : If the creature that triggered Portcullis is no longer on the battlefield when the ability resolves, then it fails to do anything.

10/4/2004 : You check the count of the number of creatures on the battlefield again during resolution. The creature will not be exiled if the count is 2 or less.

10/1/2009 : The creature does enter the battlefield, so any other abilities that trigger on it entering the battlefield trigger. This follows the normal rules for timing triggered abilities: first, the current player puts his or her abilities on the stack in any order, then each other player in turn order does the same. Portcullis' own ability is included in this, so it could result in the creature being exiled after some abilities have resolved, but before others.

10/1/2009 : The "when Portcullis leaves the battlefield" ability is set up as part of the ability that exiles the creature. It will trigger when Portcullis leaves the battlefield even if Portcullis has somehow lost its abilities at that time.

 
 

Comments on Portcullis

Feel free to post any comments or questions you have on Portcullis. Please be respectful of others. Any spam or trolling posts will be removed. Repeat offenders may be banned.