SHARE
URL:
Link

Pithing Needle | Magic: The Gathering

 

Formats Pithing Needle is Legal in

Block
Standard
Modern
Legacy
Vintage
Commander
 
 

Sets Pithing Needle is in

Edition
Price
In-Stock

1.95
3

3.75
1

4.25
1

0.00
0

Foil Pithing Needle

Edition
Price
In-Stock

5.95
1

 
 

Official Oracle Text for Pithing Needle

Card Name:
Pithing Needle
Casting Cost:
Type:
Artifact

Card Text:
As Pithing Needle enters the battlefield, name a card.
Activated abilities of sources with the chosen name can't be activated unless they're mana abilities.

Flavor Text:
The fearful want the procedure before a blood festival. The guilty seek it afterward.

Official Rulings for Pithing Needle

6/1/2005 : Pithing Needle affects cards regardless of what zone they're in. This includes cards in hand, cards in the graveyard, and exiled cards. For example, a player can't cycle Eternal Dragon or return an Eternal Dragon from his or her graveyard to hand if Pithing Needle naming Eternal Dragon is on the battlefield.

6/1/2005 : You can name any card, even if that card doesn't normally have an activated ability. You can't name a token unless that token has the same name as a card.

6/1/2005 : If you name a card that has both a mana ability and another activated ability, the mana ability can be activated but the other ability can't be activated.

10/1/2009 : Once Pithing Needle has left the battlefield, activated abilities of sources with the chosen name can be activated again.

10/1/2012 : Activated abilities include a colon and are written in the form “[cost]: [effect].” Triggered abilities and static abilities of the named card work normally.

 
 

Comments on Pithing Needle

Feel free to post any comments or questions you have on Pithing Needle. Please be respectful of others. Any spam or trolling posts will be removed. Repeat offenders may be banned.