SHARE
URL:
Link

Phantasmal Image | Magic: The Gathering

 

Formats Phantasmal Image is Legal in

Block
Standard
Modern
Legacy
Vintage
Commander
 
 

Sets Phantasmal Image is in

Edition
Price
In-Stock

7.95
0

 
 

Official Oracle Text for Phantasmal Image

Card Name:
Phantasmal Image
Casting Cost:
Type:
Creature — Illusion

Card Text:
You may have Phantasmal Image enter the battlefield as a copy of any creature on the battlefield, except it's an Illusion in addition to its other types and it gains "When this creature becomes the target of a spell or ability, sacrifice it."

Official Rulings for Phantasmal Image

9/22/2011 : Phantasmal Image's ability doesn't target the chosen creature.

9/22/2011 : Phantasmal Image copies exactly what was printed on the original creature and nothing more (unless that creature is copying something else or is a token; see below). It doesn't copy whether that creature is tapped or untapped, whether it has any counters on it or Auras attached to it, or any non-copy effects that have changed its power, toughness, types, color, or so on.

9/22/2011 : If the chosen creature has in its mana cost (such as Primordial Hydra), X is considered to be zero.

9/22/2011 : If the chosen creature is copying something else (for example, if the chosen creature is another Phantasmal Image), then Phantasmal Image enters the battlefield as whatever the chosen creature copied.

9/22/2011 : If the chosen creature is a token, Phantasmal Image copies the original characteristics of that token as stated by the effect that put the token onto the battlefield. Phantasmal Image is not a token.

9/22/2011 : Any enters-the-battlefield abilities of the copied creature will trigger when Phantasmal Image enters the battlefield. Any "as [this creature] enters the battlefield" or "[this creature] enters the battlefield with" abilities of the chosen creature will also work.

9/22/2011 : If Phantasmal Image somehow enters the battlefield at the same time as another creature, Phantasmal Image can't become a copy of that creature. You may only choose a creature that's already on the battlefield.

9/22/2011 : You can choose not to copy anything. In that case, Phantasmal Image enters the battlefield as a 0/0 Illusion creature, and is probably put into the graveyard immediately. It doesn't have the ability "When this creature becomes the target of a spell or ability, sacrifice it."

 
 

Comments on Phantasmal Image

Feel free to post any comments or questions you have on Phantasmal Image. Please be respectful of others. Any spam or trolling posts will be removed. Repeat offenders may be banned.