Phantasmagorian | Magic: The Gathering
Formats Phantasmagorian is Legal in
Official Oracle Text for Phantasmagorian
Discard three cards: Return Phantasmagorian from your graveyard to your hand.
Official Rulings for Phantasmagorian
2/1/2007 : As the triggered ability resolves, the active player gets the option to perform the action. If that player declines, the next player in turn order gets the option. As soon as any player performs the action, the spell is countered, but the remaining players still get the option. If all players decline, the spell remains on the stack.
7/1/2013 : A player can't choose to discard unless he or she actually has three cards in his or her hand.