Panoptic Mirror | Magic: The Gathering


Formats Panoptic Mirror is Legal in


Sets Panoptic Mirror is in




Official Oracle Text for Panoptic Mirror

Card Name:
Panoptic Mirror
Casting Cost:

Card Text:
Imprint, : You may exile an instant or sorcery card with converted mana cost X from your hand.
At the beginning of your upkeep, you may copy a card exiled with Panoptic Mirror. If you do, you may cast the copy without paying its mana cost.

Official Rulings for Panoptic Mirror

12/1/2004 : As Panoptic Mirror's triggered ability resolves, it allows you to create a copy of one of the instant or sorcery cards imprinted on Panoptic Mirror in the Exile zone (that's where the imprinted card is) and then cast it without paying its mana cost.

12/1/2004 : You don't pay the spell's mana cost. If the spell has X in its mana cost, X is 0. You do pay any additional costs for that spell. You can't use any alternative costs.

12/1/2004 : The triggered ability triggers only once each upkeep, not once per imprinted card. If no cards are imprinted on Panoptic Mirror when the triggered ability resolves, it does nothing.

12/1/2004 : You may imprint a card on Panoptic Mirror in response to the upkeep-triggered ability. If you do, that card is available to copy when the triggered ability resolves.

12/1/2004 : Exiling  a card when the activated ability resolves is optional. If you choose to exile a card, you can exile only a card with converted mana cost equal to X.

12/1/2004 : To imprint a split card, you pay X equal to either side's converted mana cost. If the copied card is a split card, you choose which one side of it to cast, but you can't cast both sides. You can choose the other side later in the game, though.

3/1/2005 : The creation of the copy and then the casting of the copy are both optional.


Comments on Panoptic Mirror

Feel free to post any comments or questions you have on Panoptic Mirror. Please be respectful of others. Any spam or trolling posts will be removed. Repeat offenders may be banned.