Pain Seer | Magic: The Gathering


Formats Pain Seer is Legal in


Sets Pain Seer is in




Official Oracle Text for Pain Seer

Card Name:
Pain Seer
Casting Cost:
Creature — Human Wizard

Card Text:
Inspired — Whenever Pain Seer becomes untapped, reveal the top card of your library and put that card into your hand. You lose life equal to that card's converted mana cost.

Flavor Text:
Every twitching nerve and pulsing vein carries a message, discernible with the right tools.

Official Rulings for Pain Seer

2/1/2014 : If the mana cost of the revealed card includes , X is considered to be 0.

2/1/2014 : If the revealed card doesn’t have a mana cost (because it’s a land card, for example), its converted mana cost is 0.

2/1/2014 : Split cards in your library have two converted costs, one for each half. If you reveal a split card this way, you’ll lose life equal to the sum of those converted mana costs.

2/1/2014 : Inspired abilities trigger no matter how the creature becomes untapped: by the turn-based action at the beginning of the untap step or by a spell or ability.

2/1/2014 : If an inspired ability triggers during your untap step, the ability will be put on the stack at the beginning of your upkeep. If the ability creates one or more token creatures, those creatures won’t be able to attack that turn (unless they gain haste).

2/1/2014 : Inspired abilities don’t trigger when the creature enters the battlefield.

2/1/2014 : If the inspired ability includes an optional cost, you decide whether to pay that cost as the ability resolves. You can do this even if the creature leaves the battlefield in response to the ability.


Comments on Pain Seer

Feel free to post any comments or questions you have on Pain Seer. Please be respectful of others. Any spam or trolling posts will be removed. Repeat offenders may be banned.