Ornitharch | Magic: The Gathering
Formats Ornitharch is Legal in
Official Oracle Text for Ornitharch
Tribute 2 (As this creature enters the battlefield, an opponent of your choice may place two +1/+1 counters on it.)
When Ornitharch enters the battlefield, if tribute wasn't paid, put two 1/1 white Bird creature tokens with flying onto the battlefield.
Official Rulings for Ornitharch
2/1/2014 : The choice of whether to pay tribute is made as the creature with tribute is entering the battlefield. At that point, it’s too late to respond to the creature spell. For example, in a multiplayer game, opponents won’t know whether tribute will be paid or which opponent will be chosen to pay tribute or not when deciding whether to counter the creature spell.
2/1/2014 : If the triggered ability has a target, that target will not be known while the creature spell with tribute is on the stack.
2/1/2014 : Players can’t respond to the tribute decision before the creature enters the battlefield. That is, if the opponent doesn’t pay tribute, the triggered ability will trigger before any player has a chance to remove the creature.
2/1/2014 : The triggered ability will resolve even if the creature with tribute isn’t on the battlefield at that time.