SHARE
URL:
Link

Oracle of Bones | Magic: The Gathering

 

Formats Oracle of Bones is Legal in

Block
Standard
Modern
Legacy
Vintage
Commander
 
 

Sets Oracle of Bones is in

Edition
Price
In-Stock

0.25
12

 
 

Official Oracle Text for Oracle of Bones

Card Name:
Oracle of Bones
Casting Cost:
Type:
Creature — Minotaur Shaman

Card Text:
Haste
Tribute 2 (As this creature enters the battlefield, an opponent of your choice may place two +1/+1 counters on it.)
When Oracle of Bones enters the battlefield, if tribute wasn't paid, you may cast an instant or sorcery card from your hand without paying its mana cost.

Official Rulings for Oracle of Bones

2/1/2014 : If you want to cast a card this way, you cast it as part of the resolution of the triggered ability. Timing restrictions based on the card’s type (such as sorcery) are ignored. Other casting restrictions (such as “Cast [this card] only before attackers are declared”) are not.

2/1/2014 : If the card has in its mana cost, you must choose 0 as its value.

2/1/2014 : If you cast a card “without paying its mana cost,” you can’t pay alternative costs such as overload costs. You can, however, pay additional costs such as kicker costs. If the card has mandatory additional costs, you must pay those.

2/1/2014 : If you choose to cast a split card with fuse without paying its mana cost, you may cast both halves.

2/1/2014 : If the opponent pays tribute, the creature will enter the battlefield with the specified number of +1/+1 counters on it. It won’t enter the battlefield and then have the +1/+1 counters placed on it.

2/1/2014 : The choice of whether to pay tribute is made as the creature with tribute is entering the battlefield. At that point, it’s too late to respond to the creature spell. For example, in a multiplayer game, opponents won’t know whether tribute will be paid or which opponent will be chosen to pay tribute or not when deciding whether to counter the creature spell.

2/1/2014 : If the triggered ability has a target, that target will not be known while the creature spell with tribute is on the stack.

2/1/2014 : Players can’t respond to the tribute decision before the creature enters the battlefield. That is, if the opponent doesn’t pay tribute, the triggered ability will trigger before any player has a chance to remove the creature.

2/1/2014 : The triggered ability will resolve even if the creature with tribute isn’t on the battlefield at that time.

 
 

Comments on Oracle of Bones

Feel free to post any comments or questions you have on Oracle of Bones. Please be respectful of others. Any spam or trolling posts will be removed. Repeat offenders may be banned.